Monday, August 8, 2011

Old At 23???

This past week, I had the opportunity to go to Six Flags Great America and attend the Mike Posner concert there later in the day all for free with my sister and friend. I won the tickets through the Insider page of my favorite radio station. We went a little later in the day, around lunchtime, in order to beat the initial crowds when it first opens. We were pleasantly surprised that the crowds were not that bad at all, since it seems like the majority of people decided to go to the water park instead. Because of this, we were easily able to hit all of the rides we wanted without too much of a wait at all. In fact, the line for American Eagle was hardly existent, so after we went on the blue side, we literally walked right on to the red side, and probably could have stayed on after that ride if we’d wanted to. I am proud to say that I went on all of the major roller coasters, with the exceptions of Demon and Iron Wolf. V2 and Deja Vu held no appeal for any of us, so we also passed on those. The Demon wasn’t working when we got there, so we passed on it, and no one else wanted to go on the Iron Wolf so I passed on that. I even went on Raging Bull and Superman, which I was a little afraid of the last time I had been there my senior year of high school. The first drop on Raging Bull was the real doozy, but after that I really enjoyed it. Superman was a little unnerving with the whole parallel to the ground thing, but I also really enjoyed it. We went on the Batman Begins ride, which was a fun little ride. Those tight corners and sudden drops really get you

Because there was some bad weather in the forecast, they decided to move the concert indoors and split it into two shows. We decided to go to the first show, so we put on our VIP bracelets and were seated in the section close to the stage. This is where the day got interesting.


While we were waiting for it to start, I saw that the concert was being put on by MTV. I hadn’t known this, since only the Mike Posner part had been advertised when I signed up to win the tickets, but thought, “Okay, whatever, this should still be fun.” Some DJs started out, which was pretty good and had some good dance music. The only exception was when they played Cee-Lo Green’s expletive-laden song with the expletives left in and the audience singing along. Yuck. Then came the opening act. Oh. My. Goodness. It was some guy named Miguel or whatever that I had never heard of, but figured that it might still be okay. Yeah...... No. A couple songs in, he did one that was WILDLY inappropriate for the audience. Now, keep in mind that my sister, my friend, and I were most likely among the oldest people there not with children. Most of these girls (yes, it was a heavily girl-populated event) were most likely in middle school or early high school. Anyway, as he did this song, the three of us could only stand in shock and abject horror as he performed this song, enticing the crowd to repeat the chorus and then they did. It was not until he finished the song that he commented that maybe it was not appropriate and perhaps he should not have done it. We could only look at each other and say, “Duh ”


Thankfully, Mike Posner came on shortly after that. I really liked him and thought that he did a great job and really enjoyed his performance. He did a few of his own songs, such as “Please Don’t Go” and “Cooler Than Me”, and did this really awesome cover of Adele’s “Rolling In The Deep”. During part of the song, he came out onto the part of the stage that jutted out into the audience (a brave, brave man with all those squealing teens) and played a drum. What was cool about this was that when he hit it, glitter came shooting up into the air.


Overall the concert was enjoyable, except for those few, glaring exceptions. However, I definitely felt an age gap in relation to the rest of the audience. I never thought that I would feel old at 23, but maybe that’s because I just couldn’t believe some of the music they were playing for a predominately teen crowd. Maybe I just don’t remember it, or because I had parents who cared enough to monitor the music I listened to, but I never listened to anything like that when I was in middle school. Then there was the screaming. Oh, the pre-teen/teen girl screams and squeals. I honestly hope that my sister and I never put our aunt through that when she took us to those N’SYNC concerts, though I cannot say for sure. The one girl directly in front of me was quite inconsiderate of her fellow concert-goes at times. She did not sit down the entire time, even when just about everyone else had. Also, she stood up on her chair a few times. Besides the fact that she could have hurt herself if the chair hadn’t been anchored to the floor, this was wholly unnecessary because of the stadium-style seating of the theater. She also had this really annoying habit of waving her arms about a lot, which made it hard to get a decent picture without her arm/hand in it. Never mind the other girls who recorded essentially every song Mike Posner did on their cell phone cameras. I do have to say that I find this whole everyone-has-to-record-everything-on-their-cell-phone thing quite annoying. Why do you have to record the show to later share when everyone you’ve ever met when you can just watch the performer and enjoy the moment? Goodness, maybe I really am getting old. ;-D

But, hey, at the very least I got a free day at Six Flags with my sister and friend. That was fun.