Sunday, June 12, 2011

Price Tag

There is a new song by Jessie J and B.O.B. (yeah I don’t really know who they are either) by this title that comes up often on the radio. I was driving in the car one day when it came on and had the thought that it seemed pretty apropos to my current situation. Here is the chorus:

It's not about the money, money, money

We don't need your money, money, money

We just wanna make the world dance,

Forget about the price tag

Ain't about the (ha) Cha-Ching Cha-Ching.

Ain't about the (yeah) Ba-Bling Ba-Bling

Wanna make the world dance,

Forget about the price tag.


You see, since I have no job, I obviously have no steady source of income. I pick up the odd babysitting job now and then, but it’s nothing that can really sustain me. When I got my last bank statement, I visibly cringed when I saw the balance. It’s not that I am technically out of money, just that the number is a lot lower than it was last year, and a lot lower than I would like it to be.


With all this free time that I have, there is all kinds of things that I would love to do, yet they all cost money. And with my bank account being what it is, I have to really think about any “unnecessary” purchases, especially since I just had to spend over $600 getting my car fixed. With gas prices being what they are I am so incredibly grateful that I have a Prius that gets great mileage, even though filling up the tank still feels like highway robbery. Some people in my position (no job, lots of time on their hands) would take this opportunity to go on a trip somewhere. It is my dream to go on a trip to India, but that would take money I simply don’t have. I guess that’ll have to go on my long-term wish list.


However, to be fair I also have to say that my parents have been very supportive of me. When I was needing a lot of new clothes (because my others were too big *yay*), my mom helped pay for some of them. In addition, she just bought me a whole bunch of stuff at the Wilton tent sale for when I (eventually) move out. Also, they are very kind in paying for my gym membership so that I can keep up with my fitness and enjoy my yoga classes. Best of all, they mercifully allow me to keep living in the house without paying rent. ;-D


But getting back to what I started this post with, the song is pretty much trying to say that people shouldn’t be so worried about money and getting things, just enjoy what’s around you. And I try to. There are plenty of free things that I enjoy. I am thankful that I live in a wonderful neighborhood with some great running routes and the Prairie Path very close by which I can run for free. I have a nice big backyard that’s great for sunbathing when it’s sunny out and I don’t feel like going to the pool. Also, I am grateful for my library card, which allows me to feed my reading habit without draining my savings. Best of all, I have a family that loves and supports me for no reason other than because that’s what family does.


I know that there are a lot of people who are a lot worse off than me and in more serious financial situations, but this is where I am right now. I’m kind of stuck in this limbo where I don’t have a job, and no real source of income, but still need to spend money on things. Just about everyone wishes that they had more money for various reasons, but maybe what we really need to do is take a step back, look at all that we have, and be grateful for it.

Sunday, June 5, 2011

How Do You Like Them Apples?

So..... I was originally going to write a post about something else, but right now I need to get some stuff off my chest.

I have a complicated relationship with food. I will admit that I used to have some pretty terrible eating habits - some I picked up from others and some that just sort of happened - but I have been working really hard to correct those. I’ve struggled with my weight the better part of my life, but am finally in a place where I am happy with how in shape I am and how I look. I am able to actually enjoy clothes shopping and get that spark of happiness when I realize that clothes I’ve had forever are actually getting to big on me. It has definitely not been easy, and I’ll admit that I’ve been short with my family because of it. It took me physically writing down what I was eating to realize how unhealthy a lot of it was, especially for all the working out I was doing. I have made some major changes in how and what I eat, but I’m still not perfect.


It’s been pretty easy for me to give up things like potato chips, fries, fried/breaded foods, et cetera, but I still have issues with dessert. Now most of the time I don’t need it, and am generally fine to pass or find a healthier option, but it’s really hard when it’s sitting in the fridge at home. One of my sister’s co-workers at the restaurant where she works makes cakes on the side, and will often make cakes for us for things like birthdays, Mother’s Day, and my sister’s recent graduation. I’ll generally have a small slice when we cut it for everyone, and will be fine for a few days. But then every time I open the fridge, I’ll see it sitting there, screaming “Eat me You know you want to ” I have gotten pretty good at resisting, but will give myself a few nights a week when I can have dessert a while after dinner if I really really want it. But by the time I actually get to this point, it has often already been eaten by other people. I know it’s stupid, but this makes me really frustrated because I was ready to indulge, and then have it taken away from me. It just makes me feel like I have to eat like the rest of my family in order to be able to eat anything that I consider an indulgence, and then I end up not enjoying it as much as I would have if I were able to eat it at my own pace.


In changing my eating habits, I’ve also had to really get away from the emotional/stress eating or eating because I am bored. This past year has definitely been full of its share of stressful and emotionally challenging days, and most of the time I would like nothing better than to just eat ice cream/chocolate/anything not good for me. I have been trying to replace those with healthier things like fruit, veggies, yogurt, etc. So if I can’t resist munching, at least I’m eating something good for me. It has also helped that I often go grocery shopping with my mom, so I can choose healthier snacks and whole grain/wheat/multi-grain products. But something that just annoys me it that we will still buy things that are breaded/fried, and then my family doesn’t understand why I get upset or don’t want to eat them. Now I will admit that every once in a while, I feel like having some popcorn shrimp, but I really have no desire for fried and battered fish. I mean, I get that they’re not as into this healthy eating thing as I am, but I kind of wish that they were. I guess it will be easier when I’m on my own and am just grocery shopping for myself.


Okay, so I have a little side rant that I want to get out. If the government is wanting everyone to get healthier, why is it that just about anything healthy/fresh is more expensive all of the junk food out there? The fact that junk food is so cheap is one of the reasons that we have a weight problem in this country. You can buy package of fried fish/chicken for a lot less than fresh/unfried fish or chicken. I get why fruit and vegetables are more expensive at certain times of the year because they have set seasons for when they grow and such. I would love to be able to eat Greek yogurt (instead of just regular) because it's supposed to be really healthy and possibly better than regular yogurt, but it’s just too expensive for me to rationalize buying it when regular yogurt it is so much cheaper.

So, what are your thoughts? Because I have no clue why fresh/healthy things are more expensive than unhealthy, processed foods, and it annoys the heck out of me.