So..... I was originally going to write a post about something else, but right now I need to get some stuff off my chest.
I have a complicated relationship with food. I will admit that I used to have some pretty terrible eating habits - some I picked up from others and some that just sort of happened - but I have been working really hard to correct those. I’ve struggled with my weight the better part of my life, but am finally in a place where I am happy with how in shape I am and how I look. I am able to actually enjoy clothes shopping and get that spark of happiness when I realize that clothes I’ve had forever are actually getting to big on me. It has definitely not been easy, and I’ll admit that I’ve been short with my family because of it. It took me physically writing down what I was eating to realize how unhealthy a lot of it was, especially for all the working out I was doing. I have made some major changes in how and what I eat, but I’m still not perfect.
It’s been pretty easy for me to give up things like potato chips, fries, fried/breaded foods, et cetera, but I still have issues with dessert. Now most of the time I don’t need it, and am generally fine to pass or find a healthier option, but it’s really hard when it’s sitting in the fridge at home. One of my sister’s co-workers at the restaurant where she works makes cakes on the side, and will often make cakes for us for things like birthdays, Mother’s Day, and my sister’s recent graduation. I’ll generally have a small slice when we cut it for everyone, and will be fine for a few days. But then every time I open the fridge, I’ll see it sitting there, screaming “Eat me You know you want to ” I have gotten pretty good at resisting, but will give myself a few nights a week when I can have dessert a while after dinner if I really really want it. But by the time I actually get to this point, it has often already been eaten by other people. I know it’s stupid, but this makes me really frustrated because I was ready to indulge, and then have it taken away from me. It just makes me feel like I have to eat like the rest of my family in order to be able to eat anything that I consider an indulgence, and then I end up not enjoying it as much as I would have if I were able to eat it at my own pace.
In changing my eating habits, I’ve also had to really get away from the emotional/stress eating or eating because I am bored. This past year has definitely been full of its share of stressful and emotionally challenging days, and most of the time I would like nothing better than to just eat ice cream/chocolate/anything not good for me. I have been trying to replace those with healthier things like fruit, veggies, yogurt, etc. So if I can’t resist munching, at least I’m eating something good for me. It has also helped that I often go grocery shopping with my mom, so I can choose healthier snacks and whole grain/wheat/multi-grain products. But something that just annoys me it that we will still buy things that are breaded/fried, and then my family doesn’t understand why I get upset or don’t want to eat them. Now I will admit that every once in a while, I feel like having some popcorn shrimp, but I really have no desire for fried and battered fish. I mean, I get that they’re not as into this healthy eating thing as I am, but I kind of wish that they were. I guess it will be easier when I’m on my own and am just grocery shopping for myself.
Okay, so I have a little side rant that I want to get out. If the government is wanting everyone to get healthier, why is it that just about anything healthy/fresh is more expensive all of the junk food out there? The fact that junk food is so cheap is one of the reasons that we have a weight problem in this country. You can buy package of fried fish/chicken for a lot less than fresh/unfried fish or chicken. I get why fruit and vegetables are more expensive at certain times of the year because they have set seasons for when they grow and such. I would love to be able to eat Greek yogurt (instead of just regular) because it's supposed to be really healthy and possibly better than regular yogurt, but it’s just too expensive for me to rationalize buying it when regular yogurt it is so much cheaper.
So, what are your thoughts? Because I have no clue why fresh/healthy things are more expensive than unhealthy, processed foods, and it annoys the heck out of me.
No comments:
Post a Comment