This past month or so has been pretty much the same without much going on, and I wasn’t feeling a lot of motivation to write anything, hence the radio silence. I’ve fully entered summer testing season, so there are a lot of towns to apply and test for, wait for results, and continue waiting waiting waiting.
But last Saturday was a nice break in that; I went off the Bristol Renaissance Fair with my friend and her boyfriend. He had never been before, so we spent a lot of time just walking around, enjoying the atmosphere, and seeing the best of the shows. At least for me, half of the fun is dressing up. Since I’m no longer regularly bellydancing, I jump at any chance that I get to wear my costume. I’ve worked dang hard to get in such good shape and I think I darn well deserve to wear something that shows it off. ;-D The fact alone that I can pull off a choli (midriff-baring bellydance top) and am confident enough to wear it all day in a huge feat.
Another fun part of the fair is interacting with the characters. After the joust, the three of us went over to get a picture with the Queen. My friend and I were sitting with her and talking a bit, and friend mentioned how that the guy taking the picture was her knight (boyfriend), so the Queen had him kiss her hand. Since I was by myself, she had of the lords with her (I’m not sure which one) kiss my hand. So sweet. Then when we were leaving, she had my friend’s boyfriend help her up, and then the same lord help me up. I know that women today are supposed to be all self-reliant and “I don’t need a man for anything”, but just that kind of chivalry is nice every once in a while. Also, my friend’s boyfriend bought her a carnation from one of the people walking around, and then was really nice and bought one for me too.
This sort of brings up the fact that I occasionally felt like a bit of a third-wheel during the day. This is not to say that I didn’t enjoy my time, because I did, and it was my friend who had originally invited me along. We don’t really live that close, so we don’t get to see each other that often. However, my friend and her boyfriend did walk around a lot holding hands, and there would be moments when we were sitting around waiting for a show when they would just be all “couple-y” and I would feel slightly awkward. I am immensely happy that my friend has found someone so nice, but it kind serves as just another reminder that I don’t have a boyfriend. So many of my friends have a boyfriend or are engaged/married that a lot of times I feel like everyone else’s lives are moving forward while I’m standing completely still. I’ve talked some of this over with my mom, and she sympathizes because she went through some similar stuff when she was my age. Obviously, this is something that can only be resolved with time and meeting someone myself. It can sometimes be hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak, but knowing that it’s there certainly helps.
When it's time, you'll find the right person. I got married WAY too early the first time..just because someone paid attention to me and it was nice being with someone...you're just now getting to the point where you know who YOU are and what YOU want. Being with someone..just to be with someone, isn't always the answer..right person, right time. It will happen. Perhaps not when you want..but sometimes when you least expect it..WHAMMO =)
ReplyDelete